Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Extending the cable on these?  (Read 3316 times)

Offline Ryan Sims

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • A vision of a gentle coast
    • Something
Extending the cable on these?
« on: July 19, 2006, 10:25:24 AM »
http://cgi.ebay.com/Audio-Technica-AT853a-Hanging-Choir-Conference-Mic-AT_W0QQitemZ280006296837QQihZ018QQcategoryZ133009QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I want to buy a couple of these, but I definitely need cables longer than 24".  I know I need the phantom adaptors too, when I get these, is it as simple as just throwing another full sized XLR cable on there?  This is what I hope, considering I have zero experience with any sort of electronics modification.

P.S. I know the white is hideous, but I can deal with it for this price.

Thanks guys.
Ryan (minus sign) Sims dot com
http://www.flickr.com/photos/ryan-sims/

No single raindrop believes it's to blame for the flood.

Offline Scooter

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: Extending the cable on these?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2006, 10:50:12 AM »
they look like they have XLR mini connectors.  if so, then just get two XLRmini > XLRmini cables and you're good to go.  Samson makes phantom adapters that need XLRmini anyways, so you're golden...
MBHO 603a(ka200n/ka500hn) >
R-44, or H120

LMA Recordings

Offline Ryan Sims

• Taperssection All-Star
    • Something
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2006, 11:17:06 AM »
http://www.audio-technica.com/cms/wired_mics/c0075f38c1add6ad/index.html

According to those specs, it looks like you're right (if XLRM is indeed mini, can't think of what else it might be).  That's fantastic.

Offline Scooter

• Taperssection All-Star
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2006, 11:48:49 AM »