Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: powering mp-2 w/ AAs  (Read 6827 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sean Gallemore

  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8316
powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« on: November 07, 2003, 09:52:55 PM »
user guide only gives directions on using alkaline batteries (1.5V) so I'm wondering if rechargable NiMH batteries (1.2V) would be enough to power it correctly.

also, I'm curious on the mAH of standard 1.5V alkaline batteries

thanx

Offline zhianosatch

  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8992
  • Gender: Male
  • god-damned hippies!
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2003, 10:14:06 PM »
what's the current draw of them audix micros?

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18868
  • Gender: Male
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2003, 01:19:15 AM »
You can definitely run the MP-2 on rechargables.  Rechargable and alkaline AAs are slightly different sizes and older MP-2s require a tweak to the sled for rechargables to work.  Throw in a couple rechargables and see if they work.  If so, you're all set.  If not, you'll need to have SD tweak the battery sled.

Search the Duracell or Energizer site for capacity of alkaline AAs, I found some capacity numbers for C and D batteries a while ago, but forget exactly where.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Sean Gallemore

  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8316
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2003, 02:23:03 AM »
so I had 2 rechargables to mess around with.  I put both in, doesn't work.  I put an alkaline in first, then a NiMH (1800mAH) after the alkaline and it works.  Then I try a NiMH fist then an alkaline and it doesn't work.  what's going on?

Offline zhianosatch

  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8992
  • Gender: Male
  • god-damned hippies!
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2003, 02:54:21 AM »
googly moogly?

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18868
  • Gender: Male
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2003, 02:58:07 AM »
Huh, go figure.  Not sure what to say about that, Schwil.  But I'd give SD a call about getting the sled tweaked so you don't have to sweat it anymore.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Sean Gallemore

  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8316
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2003, 03:34:13 AM »
Huh, go figure.  Not sure what to say about that, Schwil.  But I'd give SD a call about getting the sled tweaked so you don't have to sweat it anymore.

sounds like my sled needs to be tweaked? (maybe my brain too)  The batteries fit, just the first slot doesn't like Rechargables, hopefully SD can fix this problem.

Offline Lee

  • Team Bama
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4868
  • Gender: Male
  • "I hate the f***in' eagles, man!"
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2003, 02:43:54 PM »
Yeah, it needs to be retrofitted with a new spring to allow full contact with the wider body of the rechargeable.  It'll run for days on alkalines, I regularly got 2 full shows outta mine before I tossed the batts.
Denon AVR 3808ci > Paradigm Reference Studio 20 + Velodyne DLS 3750

Offline Nick Culbreth

  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3084
  • Gender: Male
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2003, 06:30:45 PM »
give sound devices a call, they'll do the work for free and only charge you for return shipping.  i'm willing to bet money they suggest you get the gain potentiometers replaced while it is there and that will cost you about $10 - $15 if memory serves correct.

Offline Sean Gallemore

  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8316
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2003, 10:44:22 PM »
give sound devices a call, they'll do the work for free and only charge you for return shipping.  i'm willing to bet money they suggest you get the gain potentiometers replaced while it is there and that will cost you about $10 - $15 if memory serves correct.

thanx for the info, nick and lee :)
the gain potentiometers are the knobs? Mine are a little loose, might get that fixed as well

Offline Electric Cowgirl

  • (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1960
  • Gender: Female
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2003, 11:45:12 AM »
Schwilly-  Try some lithium AA...go get em at Best Buy or Walmart.  They are 10$ for 4.  Also think about constructing a battery pack for the MP2.  I used an ecocharge battery with my MP2.  I have an extra cable if you would like to jerry rig your own (I did).
AKG480->w-UA5->fujitsu lifebook

Offline Sean Gallemore

  • (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8316
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2003, 06:10:21 PM »
i was looking into rechargable NiMH to save on money.  I won't have room most of the time for an ecocharge i think

Offline Lee

  • Team Bama
  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4868
  • Gender: Male
  • "I hate the f***in' eagles, man!"
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #12 on: November 10, 2003, 06:47:08 PM »
i was looking into rechargable NiMH to save on money.  I won't have room most of the time for an ecocharge i think

Just take a really cold shower before you head to the show...
Denon AVR 3808ci > Paradigm Reference Studio 20 + Velodyne DLS 3750

Offline leegeddy

  • (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1953
  • Gender: Male
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #13 on: November 10, 2003, 10:21:53 PM »
i was looking into rechargable NiMH to save on money.  I won't have room most of the time for an ecocharge i think

i've been using Lenmar NiMH AA for some time now. Lenmar makes various capacity ratings and i use the 2300mAH one. about $17/4pk.  IMO, they are excellent!!

i purchased mine from Thomas Distributing
http://www.nimhbattery.com/index.htm
"I'm a taper, he's a taper. Wouldn't you like to be a taper too?"
"Mics? What mics? This is my hat."

Offline Nick Culbreth

  • (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3084
  • Gender: Male
Re:powering mp-2 w/ AAs
« Reply #14 on: November 11, 2003, 10:23:54 AM »
definately go the nimh route you'll save a ton of money over the long run.  i've powered my mp2 for three hours w/ phantom power on using a set of 1800 mAh maha rechargeables.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.062 seconds with 38 queries.
© 2002-2021 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF