Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Recording setup for the Peace Corps  (Read 5473 times)

Offline bradohboy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Recording setup for the Peace Corps
« on: March 28, 2009, 01:35:01 PM »
Hi everyone,

It looks like i'll be heading into the Peace Corps soon, most likely Africa. My background is in music, music business and artist management. As a musician I am reasonably well versed in microphone placement for my own instrument (trombone and other brass and wind instruments). My thoughts are to take a small flash based recorder and a few decent microphones and to record the music of whatever place I'm in.

I would edit it on a small laptop and post it to my personal website or start a small sustainable record label where the proceeds go back to the artist. That idea is a book length post for another topic.

We all have budgets to work with and mine is rather modest, though the quality of even consumer level recorders has usurped those of many tape based field recorders of the 1960's and 1970's. My concerns, being in a remote location are numerous. Quality is always an issue and a low noise floor is always appreciated especially if these recordings may someday serve as a commercial vehicle to better local African artists' lives. Portability, power and frankly cost play equally as high on the list.

For those of you who have not traveled in Africa, theft is extremely high and I don't know of anyone who has been in the Peace Corps who has not had numerous things stolen. An expensive recorder stolen=expensive replacement.

I would like to keep the components to a minimum and prefer an all in one solution as opposed to having to carry another battery powered pre-amp etc. The Tascam Dr100 though new looks nice (top of my price range) the pmd661 is equally nice, and the Marantz pmd620 is another consideration.