Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: What's a good set-up for bar gigs?  (Read 4755 times)

Offline greggorypeccary

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
What's a good set-up for bar gigs?
« on: April 06, 2009, 08:38:56 PM »
Hey tapers, I'm new here but I've been enjoying your work for over 20 years now - thanks!

I'm looking for a set up to record practices and bar gigs for the band I play with.  I'm looking at the Tascam DR-07, or Edirol r-09 and starting out with the built-in mics, at least to set in the room for practice, but I know I'll want better quality mics to record gigs. 

What do the pros here recommend?  I'd like to keep it under $500, and small, something we can just set up in the corner of the bar with a friend and let run for the night.  I just want to get decent sounding recording so we have something to put on our website, listen to for evaluation, etc.

Thanks for any suggestions, and keep up the good work! 

Offline run_run_run

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: What's a good set-up for bar gigs?
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2009, 10:52:53 PM »
AT 853s

Offline sunjan

• Taping since 1988, 28 years of fine recordings...
    • Just a handful of stuff I put on etree
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2009, 03:29:02 AM »
I'm looking at the Tascam DR-07, or Edirol r-09 and starting out with the built-in mics, at least to set in the room for practice, but I know I'll want better quality mics to record gigs. 

You'd be running mic-in directly without preamp? Church Cards +  mic stand/clamps.
Line in with outboard pre? Church combo (Cards +  ST-9100) + mic stand/clamps.
Still way below $500, and good enough for your needs.
Mics: A-51s LE, CK 930, Line Audo CM3, AT853Rx (hc,c,sc),  ECM 121, ECM 909A
Pres: Tinybox, CA-9100, UA5 wmod
Recorders: M10, H116 (CF mod), H340, NJB3
Gearbag: High Sierra Corkscrew
MD transfers: MZ-RH1. Tape transfers: Nak DR-1
Photo rig: Nikon D70, 18-70mm/3.5-4.5, SB-800

Offline fleish