Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: First time taper? . . . JB3 + GbV  (Read 13498 times)

Offline barthatronic

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • I am a scientist.
    • GbV
First time taper? . . . JB3 + GbV
« on: May 24, 2004, 03:01:25 AM »
Hello,

After being sent here by some folks at SharingtheGroove.com, I've been browsing this site for the last couple of weeks trying to learn as much as I can in a short amount of time. I'm no audio engineer, but I'm eager to learn what I need do to get the job done right. My favorite band, Guided by Voices, is playing their final shows throughout this year and I'd like to tape as many as possible. I'm sorry to resort to asking questions before thoroughly studying the entire site, but I'm crunched for time and the people on here provide info masterfully. So, here goes...

I've ditched the idea of trying to tape any shows with my old, yet pristine, Sony MZ-1 MD and (after what I've read here) I'm about to purchase a Creative refurbed 20GB JB3 from eBay. I've read the JB3 FAQ (which is excellent) but still feel I need help filling in some gaps. I guess I really need some advice as to what other gear I'll absolutely need. I've been looking for good quality, low cost mics (somewhere around $100? I'm considering powered mics from Giant Squid Audio Lab) but I'd also like to be able to patch in to the soundboard (if possible at venues). I'm looking for simplicity (less gear, but the right gear) and versatility (possible situations to include stealth/SBD/mic stand).

Pardon the pun, but I need sound advice. Your recommendations, purchasing suggestions, and links would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance...
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
SP-CMC-2  >  SP-SPSB-6  >  JB3

Offline Sean Gallemore

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re:First time taper? . . . JB3 + GbV
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2004, 03:21:44 AM »
read this