Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: HELP! video editing problems.  (Read 2567 times)

Offline braweave

• Trade Count: (24)
  • Taperssection All-Star
HELP! video editing problems.
« on: June 20, 2006, 11:29:03 AM »
so im a rookie at this, and i have NO IDEA what i am doing.

here is the story, a friend gave me a vhs tape of a concert that is a proshot video.
Obviously this is 1 of about 2 copies out there. so i cant send it off to someone else to do.

my plan is to get it down to some format so i can send it off to a friend of a friend for editing, chapters, titles and to be put into a dvd format.

my problem is that when i recorded to my hard drive from the vhs tape, i chose the best quality. THIS FILE IS 30 GB. its freakin huge.
however i figured out how to dither it to an avi file that is only 11gb. (dont worry i still have the original 30 gb file if i need it.)

however it is still too large for me to send over the internet. and unless i split it up im in trouble (its all the entire concert right now at 2 hours and 25 mins.) i wanted to split it into 3 different files. so that it is like 3.5gig per file. (so i can then send the 3 dvd's to the friend of the friend.)

anyway. does anyone know how i can either split up the 11 gig file or go back into the 30 gig file and split that up.

I used the pinnacle that I bought at best buy, the software is pinnacle studio version 10.

thanks in advance.
Neumann KM140 > Sound Devices MP-2 > Edirol R-09HR

Offline jmon

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: HELP! video editing problems.
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2006, 12:32:26 PM »