Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Audacity users: how do you track-out shows and export?  (Read 7323 times)

Offline grtphl

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
  • deadheadynugs
    • Free Live Music Archive - daja@dayjay
Audacity users: how do you track-out shows and export?
« on: December 14, 2008, 10:35:18 PM »
I'm new to Audacity.  I did my fades and peak normalization to -1.0 dB on my 24/48 file.  I want to track it out and export it as 16/44.1 *.wavs within Audacity so I can *.flac and SBE OK in Traders Little Helper.  I leave 'markers' to indicate how the show should be tracked out, but I don't know how to select marker-to-marker for export.  I followed the Workflow sticky for set-up but it doesn't elaborate on tracking.  So, for anyone who uses Audacity exclusively, what's your full workflow?  I don't have CDWave so I need to figure out how to properly trim tracks in this application.

Offline dean

• Akustische u. Kino-Geräte!!!!
  • Needs to get out more...
  • The Dude abides...
Re: Audacity users: how do you track-out shows and export?
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2008, 11:09:42 PM »
I can help with some of this, but not the dithering.  I've changed sample rate from 48>44.1, so I'll describe my process when doing that.  Also not exactly sure when you say "trim" your tracks.

Preparing file for tracking:
1.  Change sample rate in lower left hand corner of the gui where it says "Project rate:".  Just select 44100.
2.  Select File > Export as wav.  Someone else will have to verify this thought, but IIRC if you mark tracks at a higher sample rate, track timing gets messed up when you burn then try to downsample to 44.1.

File tracking, using the new wav you just exported:
1.  To mark a track, select Project > Add Label At Selection.  There's a short cut for Mac: command b
2.  Apply fades, etc.