Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Adobe Audition steps?  (Read 9351 times)

Offline HealthCov Chris

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection Member
    • InsideOut Recording & Promotions
Adobe Audition steps?
« on: February 21, 2016, 01:30:19 PM »
I am new to Adobe Audition and the MultiTrack feature.  I typically record at least 2-3 stereo sources (ex. 2 pairs of mics and/or sbd).  I like to add a bit of EQ, amplification, and stereo image.  I prefer to "brighten" up my recordings some in post.  So, I am curious if there is a preferred method of sequence to this process. 

1- should I perform eq, stereo image, etc. on each individual track before multi-tracking it?  Or, should I multi-track all tracks, then perform eq, stereo image, phase correction, etc. on the final multi-track?

2- when do I perform phase correction?  I have a Tascam dr-680, so my tracks are typically in time with each other, but stereo imaging may cause some phasing issues that need to be addressed.

3- Any primary issues/concerns/considerations when using these processes in Adobe Audition?

Here is an example of my recent recording that someone told me had "prominent" phasing.  I checked it for timing and it was good, so I assume what he is hearing is a "bouncing around" effect associated with my increased stereo imaging.  Any feedback would be helpful.

https://soundcloud.com/orithris/sets/warren-haynes-ashes-dust-band-live-02172016

thanks
« Last Edit: February 21, 2016, 01:34:27 PM by CorFit Chris »
LMA: https://archive.org/details/@corfit
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/insideoutrecording
Mics: AKG ck61/ck63 (nBob actives, Naiant PFA) | AKG 568 | CA-14 omni | Studio Projects B3
Recorders: Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Zoom F3 | Roland R-07
Camera: GoPro Hero 4 Silver

Offline bombdiggity

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Adobe Audition steps?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2016, 05:58:49 PM »