Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Taper's Linux HOWTO  (Read 7118 times)

Offline homer420

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Taper's Linux HOWTO
« on: December 05, 2005, 05:24:32 PM »
I've put together a small HOWTO for you tapers interested in using Linux for transferring recordings, splitting tracks, and burning CD's (and DVD's):

http://homer.homelinux.net/taper-linux-howto.html

For the last 3+ years I've been using Linux exclusively as the operating system for my digital audio workstation. And over this time I've been able to find comparable {free} applications for performing the common tasks of a taper. This HOWTO is intended to provide an overview of these applications, and provide links to where they can be downloaded. It also provides an overview and pointers to some scripts that myself and others have written to make many of these tasks easier for us tapers.

This is my first attempt at writing a HOWTO so if you have any feedback or suggestions for improvement please send them my way (dmaley at nc dot rr dot com). Enjoy!

--
"That's it!  You people have stood in my way long enough.  I'm going to clown college!"
-Homer J Simpson
MBHO 603/KA200N's -> furtooli

Offline hzgone

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Taper's Linux HOWTO
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2005, 11:48:38 PM »
didn't read through the whole thing since i don't have a linux box running.  Which is sitting in my garage with no power supply but a good refrence when i get it running again.  +T
http://db.etree.org/hzgone
http://dead.no-ip.info

AKG 391's>MiAGi-II Silver Cables>V3>VX Pocket V2>Fujitsu 2110

on hiatus, semi retired, injured reserve, got hitched, had 2 kids, broke as hell, & my life is over patcher stage of life...

Offline chase

• Taperssection Member
    • Etree List
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2005, 12:53:27 AM »
Cool  :coolguy: