Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: FLAC 24/96 compression problems with Audition  (Read 2386 times)

Offline jlykos

• Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Don't sweat the technique
FLAC 24/96 compression problems with Audition
« on: August 22, 2006, 10:10:03 PM »
I am really new to all of this so please bear with me.  I am having problems compressing my 24/96 files in FLAC.  I split the tracks in Audition and have them all as individual 24/96 tracks.  When I go to FLAC, it says that I have a -replay-gain error and that it has problems with the 96k file.  I can do 24/48 without a problem.  I can save the files direct to FLAC at 24/96 in CD Wave, but I get really terrible compression; it takes a 181 MB file down to 178 MB.  Not too much use for it there.  Is this normal with converting 24/96 files to FLAC?  I looked through the past posts for some info on this and that is what led me to the CD Wave option, but not at those compression rates.  I used level 5 and 6 and I got the exact same file size with both.
dpa 4061 > Church Audio 9200 > Sony PCM-D50 (Moon Audio Silver Dragon v3 interconnect)

"I have no views," Mickey Melchiondo, known as Dean Ween, said in a philosophical moment. "I am way too stupid. I have no strong feelings about anything. I'm really into television and the computer. I believe everything I see on TV and read on the Internet."

Offline F.O.Bean

• Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: FLAC 24/96 compression problems with Audition
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2006, 10:15:10 PM »
hmmm, never paid great detail to how much the compression is on big files, i think my compression is around .6-.7 usually on 24-bit stuff

are you checking 'save as alternate 24-bit file' in cdwave ???
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250|0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v|Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3