Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Upgrade Suggestions Wanted  (Read 3248 times)

Offline Mike Sarnovsky

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • I love the 722!
Upgrade Suggestions Wanted
« on: September 06, 2004, 12:06:26 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I've been running km184 -> mp-2 -> modsbm1 -> d100 for several years now.  I'm very satisfied with the sound, but oftentimes the bass is just too heavy for me.  I have a high quality playback system and sometimes I find myself turning the bass down a little bit.  I need something to brighten it up a little bit I think, whether that be new mics, or scrapping the mp-2, modsbm-1, I'm not entirely sure.  Just FYI, I can't tell too much of a difference between the 140s and 184s, so I don't think I'd be interested in getting a 140 setup. 

Also, I just want to freshen up my gear as well.  For now, don't factor in cost TOO much when making recommendations.  I'm not trying to spend a fortune, but I'll spend some cash on something new and fresh I suppose.  I don't stealth at all, if open taping is not allowed, then I just attend a show for fun.  In general I record a lot of outdoor shows (big and small venues) in the summer and plenty of bars, etc. all year round.  Any suggestions are welcome.  Thanks.

Edit:  Also just wanted to mention that I want to stick with DAT as I'm pretty paranoid about running a laptop during shows.  I understand that I can get 24/96 out of it, I just want to stick with DAT.  Thanks.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2004, 12:09:44 PM by Mike Sarnovsky »
Mics:  Neumann SKM-140, Neumann SKM-184
Pres:  Lunatec V3, Sound Devices MP-2
A/D:  Oade Mod Sony SBM-1
Recorder:  Sound Devices 722, Nomad JB3

Offline ashevillain

• Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Upgrade Suggestions Wanted
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2004, 12:15:02 PM »
Just FYI, I can't tell too much of a difference between the 140s and 184s, so I don't think I'd be interested in getting a 140 setup.