Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: use my saffire pro?  (Read 1292 times)

Offline growltiger

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
use my saffire pro?
« on: August 26, 2007, 11:24:01 PM »
Hi all - brand newbie here, looking to start taping -

I already have a Saffire Pro firewire interface that I use for recording/producing with my macbook pro -- I was wondering what people thought about using that as my preamp/converter for open taping? I really like the preamps on it and see no reason why I couldn't use them??? Assuming I could take the mics into the saffire and that into the macbook pro (or take the digital out into my microtrack then I could blow my wad on mics and not have to worry about a preamp and a/d converter. Only problem I see for larger venues or venues where I'm not friendly with the manger, etc is that I don't have battery power and need to plug-in somewhere :(

Ideally I'd like to buy mics for about $400-600 (max, $300ish preferably) that could be used either stealth or open. (though I'd have to pick up a church preamp for stealth), but I forsee close to 90% of my taping being done open, so i was wondering if buying larger mics at the same price point (or actually a bit more expensive) would yield better sound. So basically I can spend $300-500 (maybe stretch to $600) on stealth mics + preamp, or just spend the money on larger mics only.

Currently I'm looking at
Core Audio stealth cardoids or high-end binaurals
the Church Audio cardoids
AKG C-1000 (open only setup)
Rode NT-4 (open only setup)
AT 813 (open only setup)

--