Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Mic questions for microtrack  (Read 1481 times)

Offline ericl24

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Mic questions for microtrack
« on: May 01, 2006, 12:02:47 PM »
I'm new to recording, just got a MT for recording myself on acoustic guitar, jamming with friends, and for workshops. I bought a Sony ms907 mic, I thought the Sony would be a big improvement over the mic that came with the MT, but it is much less sensitive, with more hiss and maybe less bass than the little m-audio one. The Sony clearly gives better stereo image, but for what I want to use it for, the low sensitiivty is a real negative. At typical volumes, I have the input levels maxed out and its still too low.

Is there another better option for a mic ~$100, or do I have to go much higher in price for better sesnitivity and good stereo?  Am I crazy thinking that the mic that came with it is better for my use than the Sony? I've read old posts and I realize that the Sony is supposed to be low sensitivity, but I'm surprised it s so different than the m-audio. Thanks for any help.

eric

RebelRebel

Re: Mic questions for microtrack
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2006, 01:38:13 PM »
Another option that you may want to consider is the Sound Professionals SP-PASM-2.

It is a pair of mics and preamp in one, and just plugs into the recorder. it comes in two different sensitivities. The mics are omnidirectional, and would work well for what you are doing. Adjustable gain, variable bass roll off, etc.

www.soundprofessionals.com

there is a coupon for members here. Type in "taperssection" in the coupon code bar.
My wife uses one for documenting song ideas or story lines.

Your ears dont lie..if they say the MT has a better mic...well there you go!

Offline Pokey1

• Taperssection Newbie
Re: Mic questions for microtrack
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2006, 11:22:08 AM »