Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Stealth: Mono/Stereo? Does It matter?+Upgrade from Core Sound Cards...What Mics?  (Read 12649 times)

Offline tardis71

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
Hey guys! long time stealth taper here, looking for some help in deciding what mics to upgrade to.
Basically I've been using Core Sound Cards with the BB for 10+ years. Finally at the point I have some extra money to upgrade.
My question is, when taping stealth does it really matter if you have a mono mic or stereo?
Normally I'll tape with the CSC clipped to the left and right of my collar.
But in the last 5+ years I've been slack and just have both mics taped together and have them coming out of a hole in my breast pocket.
Mostly because when I compared shows, I couldn't really tell the difference between having the mics separated or together.

I'm at the point where I still want to tape the shows I go to. But I want a super easy, small and hassle free setup.
I just ordered a new Sony M10 so I'll be downsizing from my D8. So what to do with the mics?
Any other mics I should look at? Can Church Audio build me a really good Single small stealth mic??
Thanks for any thoughts in advance! Happy T-day!
;)

I've been considering this Mic and BB combo from MM Audio

MM-MBM Miniature "Mint Box" Battery / Filter Module with 7 position bass roll off!
US$79.00
http://www.microphonemadness.com/products/mmmimbobafim.htm

and MM-HLSC-LAPEL ( Cardioid ) "Sennheiser Driven"
US$159.95
http://microphonemadness.com/products/mmhigcarlaps.htm

Any thoughts on this combo?

Also considering stereo mics that I would just keep together..Like I have been doing with the CSC's....

MM-FGNC-1 Flexible "Gooseneck" (Cardioid) Stereo Microphones (20-20,000 Hz.)
US$ 129.95
http://microphonemadness.com/products/mmflexgoosca.htm

or
SOUND PROFESSIONALS - PREMIUM AUDIO TECHNICA SLIMLINE STEREO MICROPHONES - COMPARE WITH DPA 4060 AND 4061
$259.00