Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: field recording newbie: shotgun or parabolic dish?  (Read 11543 times)

Offline soundgeezer

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
field recording newbie: shotgun or parabolic dish?
« on: September 27, 2010, 05:09:54 AM »
Hi everyone!

Disclaimer: I'm a complete newbie when it comes to sound recording, so please be gentle if I happen to ask a somewhat ignorant question here. :)

In January, I'll be heading on an 11-day trip to India with Chris Watson to capture wildlife sounds. Ideally, I'd like to grab a good mix of both individual animals and overall environmental stuff. (I'm posting some recorder/mixer questions elsewhere on this board.)

At the moment, I only own a cheap dynamic mic and am obviously wanting to invest in something more substantial. Currently thinking of several things:

SHOTGUN option: Sennheiser K6/ME66
PARABOLIC option: Telinga 7W with Dual Science (would this be good for a mix of the two things I want?)
ALSO: 2x DPA 4060 on a coat hanger.

Any thoughts on this? I'm on a budget and will invest more later on, but need enough to get me started out. Shotgun or dish? Or chuck those and go with the DPA?

Thanks for any help!

Offline John Willett

• Taperssection All-Star
  • Bio:
    • Sound-Link ProAudio
Re: field recording newbie: shotgun or parabolic dish?
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2010, 07:02:19 AM »
If you get the K6 + ME66, get the ME 62 omni as well and use it in a parabolic reflector as supplied via the Wildlife Sound Recording Society.

Gives a lot of flexibility.

Offline rastasean

• in paradise
  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2010, 03:50:14 PM »
That's a fine shotgun mic! The power supply will help you out since you won't require phantom power.

A couple things to consider are wind protection and some means to hold the microphone.