Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Using a Zoom H4n as a 4-track??? Editing?  (Read 3542 times)

Offline HarpNinjaMike

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
    • My Webpage
Using a Zoom H4n as a 4-track??? Editing?
« on: November 10, 2010, 03:37:30 PM »
I am new to this whole thing and am getting a Zoom H4n tomorrow.  I realize it will take time to master, but I would like to try and record my full band at a gig tomorrow night.  I was thinking of using the Zoom to record with the internal mics in stereo and run an XLR in from the direct out of a powered speaker.  I was thinking of also running an overhead on stage and using that as the 4th track.

The gig is in a small venue and the only thing going through the mains will be vocals.  I am upgrading my mixer in the near future and realize that running out of that in different arrangements is probably a better idea.

All my audio is either live with my old group, or professionally recorded in studio.  I need a coverband type demo ASAP and am hoping this rig may net me 10-20s from 10-20 songs to put together for a sampler. 

In December, I will be able to get several recordings taking a signal from a full PA and room mics, but need something short term.

My understanding is as long as the inputs aren't clipping, I can mix the 4 tracks together on the H4n after recording, output them on to a computer as WAV and then edit them to the snippets and combine them.  Correct?  What can I use for the editing?  I have Garage Band on a MacBook...
Mike

Offline SmokinJoe

• Trade Count: (63)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • "75 and sunny"... life is so much simpler.
    • uploads to archive.org
Re: Using a Zoom H4n as a 4-track??? Editing?
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2010, 04:58:53 PM »