Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Help setting up a server...  (Read 1737 times)

Offline ChitownTaper

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Help setting up a server...
« on: July 14, 2004, 11:12:42 PM »
Hey!

Hopefully someone on here can help me out, or point me towards a place I can turn for help.  What I want to do is make a server that I can put all sorts of files on and access them.  I also want to set up a FTP for a few local bands to download shows I"ve tape of them.

What I have to work with: About a terabyte of hard drive space across 6 hard drives.  1.7gHz AMD PC running win2k.  G4 powerbook.  I have a wireless router and stuff I can use to setup the wireless network.  I'm not sure how to optimize this.  (I'm VERY new to networking).

So yeah, I know that's about the worst description I could possibly give, but i'm just not sure where to start or what to do.  Right now I only use my Mac w/ an external 120gb drive.  The rest of my hard drive space has shns and video on it, but I just don't use it bc i can't use it with my mac.  And I want to be able to do that.

thanks!
cal

Offline Bri

• Complaint Dept.
  • Needs to get out more...
  • There is nothing you can hold, for very long.
Re: Help setting up a server...
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2004, 11:28:49 PM »
windows (samba) file sharing and wfptd for windows. Run XP Pro, or try linux! I always liekd this flavor!
http://www.mandrakelinux.com/en-us/

Bri

Offline nic

• Big In Japan
  • Trade Count: (1)
    • half dead batteries
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2004, 01:04:04 PM »
anyone got any BIND suggestions?   :P

been banging my head against this(via FreeBSD 5.1, Slackware 9/10, Debian Woody 3, even RedHat9)) for the past 3 weeks now. . .

the water's clean and innocent

Offline mirth

• Les Hommes Savvent Pourquois
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2004, 02:24:14 PM »
whats the problem? bind's easy.