Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Should i upgrade my rig?  (Read 7515 times)

Offline Normsreality

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • Hayes Carll...busted my taping cherry!
Should i upgrade my rig?
« on: August 27, 2005, 09:18:42 PM »
I've been taping some local stuff and my own band for about 2 years or so with AT829s>Battery Box>Sony MZ-S1 MD lin-in. However I just bought a JB3 20gig and plan to start taping some bigger shows such as DMB, WSP, UM and so on.I made this decision after the DMB show from Atlanta this year wasn't taped, and I don't want that to happen again. I was just wondering if you guys think I should upgrade my Mics or antyhing else. My bat box has no features, ie. bass roll-off, and i'm almost positive i'm going to add a pre-amp. Any suggestions would be great. Thanks for the help guys and gals.
Studio Projects C4s or Behringer B2 Pros>Canare Star Quads>Oade digi-mod UA5>optical>JB3/lappy

Offline willndmb

• Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Should i upgrade my rig?
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2005, 09:54:47 PM »
i would recommend an upgrade if you can to a ad-20 or somthing
it will allow you to go digi in on the jb3
and that would also allow you to adjust levels
plus give you better overall sound--at least mine did
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline dgodwin

• AT4041->Tascam DR-100mkiii
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2005, 09:57:41 PM »