Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: M/S Situations?  (Read 6449 times)

napa

• Trade Count: (0)
M/S Situations?
« on: July 25, 2006, 08:23:46 AM »
Is there situations when M/S is not good to run? Such loud indoor venues or anything like that? Any bad experiences?

RebelRebel

Re: M/S Situations?
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2006, 09:07:34 AM »
Is there situations when M/S is not good to run? Such loud indoor venues or anything like that? Any bad experiences?

M/S is very flexible in that you do a lot with it after the fact..I have had no bad experiences, personally. I use it in situations where I cant use blumlein a lot.

Funny that you ask, a friend of mine is selling a V3 with a M/S modification (switch on the outside) and 10db of extra gain...see the YS//

TEddy

Offline eric.B

• to the side qualified
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2006, 09:37:38 AM »
id use MS anywhere EXCEPT from far away from the soundsource.. and like teddy said, anywhere where blumlein is called for, but wouldnt work because of the situation behind on the other side (behind you) the soundsource..  I like MS alot when aptly used..  great staging..

teddy..   why did your friend add 10 db gain to the v3?  there seems like plenty there for most mics and soundsources..
We have a system that increasingly taxes work and subsidizes nonwork.  ~Milton Friedman

Offline Scooter

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2006, 09:47:37 AM »
i've had a few good pulls lately using M/S slightly FOB at mid size outdoor shows.  i think they came out great!  using both hypers and cards for the M.
MBHO 603a(ka200n/ka500hn) >
R-44, or H120

LMA Recordings

RebelRebel

« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2006, 10:44:27 AM »