Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Edirol R09 file is showing as corrupt data on pc, but plays on unit. Help please  (Read 1463 times)

Offline Corncobs

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
I'm pretty new to taping & a NEWBIE to using the forums, so please go easy on the techno info.
I've just purchased an Edirol R09 recently.

My 3rd recording was last night.  I've had no transfer problems so far, until now.........
I had 4 wav files on my 2GB card.  3 were very small 'false starts' i.e. the band didn't come on, so I stopped recording!
Those 3 have transfered to my pc with no problem.
The 4th, my main recording is approx 1.2GB & won't transfer.  The exact message I'm getting is -

"Cannot copy R09_0004: The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable."

I also tried opening it with WM Player & Adobe Audition2, but both refused to recognise the file.

Yet the file will play on the Edirol & sounds fantastic.

Can I retrieve & transfer the wav file to my pc?
Can anybody help me in my dilema?
 :(
« Last Edit: October 26, 2006, 06:46:11 AM by Corncobs »

Offline divamum

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
No firsthand experience, but I think this thread might address your problem....

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=71825.0

DPA4060
R09

Offline Corncobs

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Thanks for your reply & the link.  :)

I thinks there's quite a bit about the R09 I need to read................... :hmmm:

Well, back to the issue in hand -
I thought I'd lost the file altogether, but I'm happy to say I've been able to recover it to my HDD.   :spin:

I think it was corrupted somehow when I finished recording.  Maybe I didn't shut the unit down properly because I was rushing out of the hall i.e. I had to run like hell get my last bus out of town.
As for recovering the file - I got a bit p****d off & thought I'd try 'this, that & the other'.