Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Easy to understand reference for polar patterns X's distance for Newbs.....  (Read 6725 times)

Offline KLowe

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • CrossFit....check you ego at the door
http://www.soundprofessionals.com/pdf_files/AT853ELE.pdf

Found this PDF while researching AT caps for a DIY stealth project.  Good information that explains pick up angles of caps and distance factors.  Very easy to understand.  Wish I had found this back then.  Still I learned things from it now. 

I love this hobby.
I actually work for a living with music, instead of you jerk offs who wish they did.

bwaaaahahahahahaha.... that is awesome!

Offline DSatz

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (35)
This is a nice flyer if you correct for the fact that it says "signal to noise ratio" when it means "the ratio of direct sound to reverberant sound," and "hypercardioid" when it means "supercardioid."

I respect the attempt to simplify things, but not to the point where it creates more confusion.

--best regards
music > microphones > a recorder of some sort

Offline KLowe

This is a nice flyer if you correct for the fact that it says "signal to noise ratio" when it means "the ratio of direct sound to reverberant sound," and "hypercardioid" when it means "supercardioid."

I respect the attempt to simplify things, but not to the point where it creates more confusion.

--best regards

Can you expand on hypercard vs supercard?  I don't understand that one.
I actually work for a living with music, instead of you jerk offs who wish they did.

Offline DSatz

• Site Supporter
Hypercardioid and supercardioid are two different directional patterns, both of which fall on the spectrum between cardioid and figure-8. The hypercardioid is closer to the figure-8; the supercardioid is closer to the cardioid.