Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Home Stereo Amplifier  (Read 7185 times)

Offline Rob D.

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
Home Stereo Amplifier
« on: October 06, 2020, 04:28:03 PM »
I'm in the market. I'm looking for the simple, only using it for audio, no HDMI or USB needed. I've got my eyes on this but checking if anyone here knows better or can find better prices. After all, this will be replacing a Pioneer receiver that I've been using since 1999  ;)

https://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-S501BL-Natural-Integrated-Amplifier/dp/B00MXUCRG0/ref=sr_1_1?crid=1PYL5QN9GX1YX&dchild=1&keywords=yamaha+s-501&qid=1602015937&sprefix=yamaha+s-5%2Caps%2C211&sr=8-1

https://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-T-S500BL-AM-Tuner-Black/dp/B0044779IG/ref=sr_1_1?crid=1AYARBCZ86F46&dchild=1&keywords=yamaha+tuner&qid=1602016065&sprefix=yamaha+tuner%2Caps%2C213&sr=8-1
« Last Edit: October 06, 2020, 04:39:39 PM by Rob D. »

Offline morst

• I think I found an error on the internet; #UnionStrong
  • Trade Count: (2)
Re: Home Stereo Amplifier
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2020, 07:52:35 PM »
The links show one stereo integrated amplifier (preamp and main amp all in one package) and a separate digital tuner.
Gear looks fine, but I don't know much about what constitutes a great tuner.
I always liked my (now antique!) Nikko NT-790 analog tuner with LED indicators for tuning assist. I see a half dozen on ebay for under a hundred bucks. It was made in late 1970's when FM was just about the same as now, for all I know.
Do you have a good antenna for the FM?
Roof array, dipole, rabbit ears? I chopped a retired RJ11 phone cord into an FM Dipole recently and it works okay.
An awful lot of modern gear for home use is multi channel for home theatre, so there is a lot less "shelf space" for plain stereo models.

sample, recorded via Nikko NT-790 > Zoom H2
https://archive.org/details/Cracker2007-11-08.FM
Ps my daily driver Denon integrated amp is the PMA-520 I got in 1989.