Gear / Technical Help > Home Theatre & HDTV

What are the downsides to plasma?

(1/5) > >>

BC:
I was reading through Moke's original thread, and from what I could glean:

1) Not good at high altitude
2) Might burn in if you are watching extended periods of programs with a black caption like ESPN.

Are there any long-term issues with plasma? My friend was saying something about the picture fading over time or having to "recharge" your plasma after a few years. Is this true? Sorry, I am a noob when it comes to TV.

Thanks!
Ben

nickgregory:
originally plasma life was 20,000 hours, but most manufacturers now boast 60,000 hours...guessing the truth is somewhere in the middle and obviously dependant on your viewing habits

OFOTD:

--- Quote from: BC on January 15, 2007, 06:00:53 PM ---2) Might burn in if you are watching extended periods of programs with a black caption like ESPN.

--- End quote ---

Myth.  This actually may have been true several years ago but burn-in is not an issue anymore.  Most if not all plasmas have anti-burnin technology.   You can't go wrong with either plasma or lcd.  I have a Samsung 50" plasma and freakin love it.  I also have it hanging on the wall  which is one reason I went with plasma.

dmonterisi:
the biggest downside is that you will find it difficult to get off the couch.  ;) 

plasmas do degrade over time because of the gases used in the pixels...but at this point, it's a ridiculously long time.  by the time it dims enough to be noticeable, you will likely be in the market for a new set anyway.

as for burn-in, the risk is extremely minimal these days.  I would say the risk is highest in the first 100-200 hours, so i'd set the contrast a bit low at the beginning and avoid watching a ton of content with black bars, so stretch the image to fit the screen.  this will help the pixels wear evenly. after 2-3 weeks, you should be good to go.