Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Mic suggestions for a newbie  (Read 8661 times)

Offline sparko

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Mic suggestions for a newbie
« on: October 28, 2012, 08:01:45 AM »
I'm totally new to taping and I already read a lot thru the boards here. Since English is not my native language, some posts are more confusing than clearing things up.

I do have a Tascam DR-07 MkII Recorder and recently recorded my first show with internal mics. For the very first try I'm very pleased with the result as I expected the recorder mics to do a worse job than they actually did.

So far what I found out for myself is, in order to tape (mostly) rock music (which includes classic, indie, alternative, so in general the basic guitar bass and drums) in both small and big venues, I should opt for cardioid mics (to focus on the music rather than getting too much chatter). My budget isn't very big and so I came across the Church CA-11 or CA-14 (what's the actual difference / advantage?) and I also should tell, that I'd like to go with a setup in a more stealthy way. This is not because of the musicians don't wanna get taped, but I'm rather a lazy person and don't like to carry around too much gear while seeing a show from the audience, which especially in small venues often ends up right in the middle of GA - so any stealthy hat setup is preferred. Additionally, if I do have access to other spots, I mostly carry around a DSLR and do my job, so I need my hands free for that and wanna avoid too much EQ to setup.

So looking at the price range the CA-11/14 are at, are there any other cardioid mics I should look at? What else do I need to get? I know I need power for the mics, but I'm not sure whether to grab a simple battery box or a preamp? What do I need to know / think about for choosing battery box or preamp?

Any other suggestions for a newbie? Something I totally forgot to include in my thoughts?

Thanks in advance,