Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Was given a new Zoom H6...need mics/setup ideas PLEASE.  (Read 6945 times)

Offline hopturn

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Was given a new Zoom H6...need mics/setup ideas PLEASE.
« on: November 01, 2013, 02:29:54 PM »
Hello. Don't want to restate the heading, but I was just given a Zoom H6 and I would like to FINALLY get a live concert recording set-up together. I'm a musician, and I will mostly use the system to record other bands in various sized indoor bars and venues, as well as a few stadium and festival concerts. Occasionally, I would like to use my system to record my own band as well...maybe to use the recordings for free distribution online and other promotional activities.

I'm a bassist and not a doctor, and can't afford $3,000 microphones. But anything between $200 - $1,000 would be great. I'm sure you guys get these kinds of requests often, but I have a new recorder and can't wait to use it. I'm sure the included mics are close to worthless.

Just something simple with a good clean "real" sound...nothing that colors the sound too much would be preferred.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide.

runonce

Re: Was given a new Zoom H6...need mics/setup ideas PLEASE.
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2013, 03:31:32 PM »
Actually the jury is still out on the included mics - few have run this one yet.

Offline 404 Not Found

• Taperssection Member
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2013, 04:04:15 PM »
I personally did not like the Mic's that come with the Zoom H6, as they are noisy to start with and the volume level on the head of the unit where it attaches can be audibly heard while adjusting due to the close prox of the actual mic. and the volume control.