Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: what configuration ???  (Read 1720 times)

Offline Krispy D

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • my recordings on LMA
what configuration ???
« on: March 08, 2005, 10:17:46 PM »
hey all,

I'm a total newby, with maybe 15 quality recordings under my belt.  I use a mosty homemade rig that pruduces a suprisingly good recording.  I have a decent ebay light stand (12 foot, air shock) not bad for thirty bucks.  a home made T bar and home made shock mounts, I'll post pics at a later date they came out awesome and could be easily modded to work for any other rig! 

I use two different mics and haven't decided which I like more.  Now, before anybody jumps in and says "go buy mics", I'll let you know that these both have made good quality tapes.  maybe not A++ but deffinate A material.  I am very new to taping but not new to listening.  I have been trading live concert recordings for ten+ years and know a good tape.  (and the real reason I'm still using these is I am closing on a house this week and can't afford it   ;))  all in good time...  I currently use a pair of matched old sony ecm 260f electret condencers or audio technica atm11 (also electret condencers)  Both pairs sound better with a battery box.  I use a spsb-1 with adjustable bass rolloff and a rat shack headphone volume controll into a sony mz-n10 net md recorder. 

Now with all that out there is one venue in town where my fav local band plays regularly and iI can't get a good recording no matter what I do.  I've gotten great recordings of the same band at different venues as well as great recording of other bands at those venues so I'm left with blaming the venue.  The room is fairly small only holding a few hundered people but the cieling is probly 30+ feet and the whole thing is concrete.  the stage is only inches off the floor and the stacks are maybe 5 feet tall on the floor.