Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sound Core Low Cost Binaural + Low Sensivity Option  (Read 3107 times)

Offline tod3sschu3tze

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • Tape Metal!
Sound Core Low Cost Binaural + Low Sensivity Option
« on: December 06, 2005, 12:56:36 PM »
hi guys!
i am not that new in taping, but i think in your eyes i am a complete noob, so please be considerate :)
for taping i always used my sony mz-r70 minidisc recorder or my iriver h-120 hdd recorder.
as mic i chose a sony ecm-ds70p. for outside recordings (open air) this equipment was good enough.

for taping in halls, i aways took the sony mz-r70, because it is simply smaller and it is easy to prevent it from the close inspection of a security guy (stealth ^^).
the problem with that recorder always was the distortion, because it has not got a "low sensivity" recording feature.

finally i decided to buy the sound core low cost binaurals with low sensivity option, because the website says, they are made for the sony series not having the low sensivity feature.

here is what the webiste says:

Low Sensitivity Option: If you are using one of the Sony MD recorders that lack the low sensitivity setting on its mic pre-amp (MZ-R37, MZ-R70, MZ-R71, MZ-R90, MZ-R91, MZ-R700, MZ-R750) or that have overload problems (MZ-R55), you'll find that if you record loud music, the mic pre-amp will overload and you'll hear huge amounts of distortion. (These are the only recorders that lack this feature. All of the other Sony MD recorders and all Sharp recorders have a low sensitivity setting.)

so, i have 2 questions:
1. has anybody some experience with especially that version i am looking for? any pros or cons?
2. when my mz-r70 will be broken one day (hopefully not!), is it correct, that i can still use them, even if another md-recorder has that low sensivity option, and i leave it inactive?
Stealth Setup(s):

NEW ONE: