Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Bass roll-off switch  (Read 3063 times)

Offline guitard

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
Bass roll-off switch
« on: July 07, 2006, 11:54:33 AM »
I'm still very new at this - so please excuse the question if it sounds really stupid.

I recently bought some Core Sound Cardioids.  They came with a battery box.  Someone asked me if I got the battery box with the bass roll-off switch - and I said no - there is no switch - just a rectangular box with a plug on one end.

I went back to the Core Sound website to try and find out more info about this option.  In the Cardioids section, I never saw any mention of bass roll-off.  Is this not an option with this style mic?
Mics: Schoeps MK41s & MK41Vs >:D
Pre-amps: BabyNbox & Platinum Nbox
Deck: Sony A10

Video: Canon HF G70 (4K), Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K)
Photo: Canon EOS 7D w/ Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L is III USM

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 18 (build 527) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline guitard

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Bass roll-off switch
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2006, 12:22:03 PM »
Moke ~ thanks for the response.

Here are the specs for these mics (as stated at Core Sound's website):

The Core Sound Stealthy Cardioid microphones have a frequency response of from 40 Hz to 18 kiloHertz. They have a slightly rising frequency response over that range with the exception of a slight (2 dB) peak between 9 kHz and 12 kiloHertz and a bass response fall off of roughly 6 dB per octave starting at 100 Hertz. (The bass response is very similar to our Core Sound Binaural microphones' with the bass roll-off filter).