Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: MK4's ~vs~ MK4v's  (Read 8577 times)

Offline Josephine

• Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
MK4's ~vs~ MK4v's
« on: March 27, 2007, 01:30:32 AM »
Why would someone want MK4's over MK4v's . . .  or vice versa?

Can some explain (in lay terms) the differences between the two?
Remember, I'm no techie -- I just know how to push buttons.  ;)
In what conditions would one want to use eacjh of these mics?
Thanks ~
Schoeps MK4 / MK4v / MK41 > actives > NBox+ > R-09HR

~   On Dime   ~
~   My Recordings   ~
~   Live Music Archive   ~

Offline THE NIZ BIAAAAACH!

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • Mr T don't partake in no sombrero activities!
Re: MK4's ~vs~ MK4v's
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2007, 01:51:44 AM »
The capsuls are the same, however V stands for vertical.  If both sets of mic were set up in the club, the bodies on the mk4 would point at the stage, the bodies on the 4v would point at the ceiling.  This means that the capsul inside the head is mounted differently.  The 4v's are just like when you see people run large diaphram mics where the body is vertical but the grill of the mic faces the stage.

Also they sound a little different.  The 4v has a slight hf push.  Basically though the same mic
mk21+mk4>kc5>cmc6>portico 5012>722
24\96 in your ass bitches!

Offline poorlyconditioned

• Taperssection All-Star
  • I'm a tapir!
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2007, 02:13:58 AM »
The capsuls are the same, however V stands for vertical.  If both sets of mic were set up in the club, the bodies on the mk4 would point at the stage, the bodies on the 4v would point at the ceiling.  This means that the capsul inside the head is mounted differently.  The 4v's are just like when you see people run large diaphram mics where the body is vertical but the grill of the mic faces the stage.

Also they sound a little different.  The 4v has a slight hf push.  Basically though the same mic