Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Church Audio B-99M Stereo omni Binaural Mics in studio application?  (Read 2165 times)

Offline GroundHog420

• Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
    • Sonic Archives
Hi!

There was an old thread about the SP-TFB-2 binaural mics, but as I started to post in that thread, I got the "older than 120 days" message, prompting me to start a new thread.  I've been using the Church Audio B-99M Stereo omni mics for the past four years, and I'm curious if anyone who used both of these has any thoughts about the similarities / differences between the two, when it comes down to stealth recording?  I rarely do stealth these days, but once in a while it becomes necessary, and I thought the SP-TFB-2 set-up looked pretty discreet, but I've heard that in-ear positioning is not a good application of binaural recording.  On the other hand, I've used the Church mics for stealth, but I can never be sure that they're hidden enough - particularly in small venues.

I love the Church Audio pro-binauaral mics, and as it's my understanding that "binaural" is an application, rather than a specific type, I've been using them as any other type of omni mic.  I've recorded tons of shows in both large and small venues, as well as outdoor festivals, etc, and tried to pick what seemed like the best configuration for the mics in each situation, mounting them on a stereo bar, and (hopefully) making good choices as to the height of the stand.  basically, finding the "sweet" spot in every case, as though I had the luxury of listening to the show from a vantage point of 12-15 ft in the air, for example. (I used to do the same thing with both Tandy and Crown PZMs, and got some pretty incredible results just by pushing the configurations a bit!)