Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Edirol R-09: what mic and pre set up for concert and nature sounds rec? Help!  (Read 3445 times)

Offline entropia.calante

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
I'm a novice taper and have a few question for you expert taping people.

Two words to introduce myself: my name is Maurizio from Italy; just bought from ebay a very good Edirol R-09, but as some of you knows, internal pre is a lot noisy.

I need to purchase a mic and a pre and reading forum I've made myself the idea that a Church pre and mics could be right for me.

My main purposes are to sthealth record some live gig (mainly jazz) for myself and also I need to record some nature sound (e.g. birds and other animals). I have a CONDENSER SHOTGUN cardioid for these nature sounds that seems to work well (Audio-Technica ATR55 Telemike), but also here I need more amplification (but not noise).
I was wondering if Church-Audio STC-9000 stereo cardioid microphone system (with STC-11) selling on eBay for 200$ could be good both for concerts and for nature sounds (only the preamp with ATR55).
I've already seen the Church-Audio ST-9100 stereo microphone preamp that seems with better spec (but only 20 dB gain versus 30 dB of STC 9000).

I need the maximum gain so 30 dB is really better than 20 dB...indeed 9000 is far cheaper...that is not bad at all! Grin. But really I do not understand very well the differences in performances and field of use of both two pre.

Maybe some of you can help me to choose??? I would be very greatful, maybe directly good Mr. Church could answer to me ...I hope.
Please have my best wishes to all the forum... a very very good people to learn from.

Bye, Maurizio

P.S. And what about SP Preamp and SP Preamp 11, that have both a stunning 42 dB gain...?

Offline Brennan

• Taperssection Member
  • Currently hooked on open taping