Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony PCM-M10 & Peter Gabriel  (Read 4093 times)

Offline The_Hermit

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Sony PCM-M10 & Peter Gabriel
« on: August 06, 2010, 09:22:52 PM »
Hello All - Nice Forum!

I'm a newbie, on a mission, and these threads have been very helpful.

What do you all think about this set-up…

The show is Peter Gabriel with a 50 piece orchestra, which is amplified.
I'll be up front, very close to the stage. The speakers are all directly above the stage, suspended in a fan-like array. All indoor venues, 1 large and 1 small.
The show has both quiet spots and full-on orchestra. No guitars or drums.

I have a Sony PCM-M10

I'm thinking of using SP-BMC-12 Croakie mount mics with a 12v booster.
Using "line in" with the mic set on "low sensitivity".
Does that sound reasonable so far?

How about "manual" vs "auto" record level settings? I'm a little foggy on that one. Unfortunately, my only practice recording will involve cranking up the stereo in my living room.

Any advice would greatly appreciated…

Thanks!

Offline rhinowing

• Needs to get out more...
    • SPLRA - Smashing Pumpkins Live Recording Association
Re: Sony PCM-M10 & Peter Gabriel
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2010, 09:25:26 PM »
manual levels and line in is the way to go. you only want to use mic in if you aren't putting a battery box between the mics and the M-10

set your levels at the beginning of the show and don't check them too much. you're more like to ruin the recording by accidentally pulling out a cable or whatever checking levels than you are to set them badly in the first place....

you may find yourself not getting enough vocals due to being really close to the stage, though
Please contact me if you've ever taped the Smashing Pumpkins or a related group!

Offline su6oxone

• Trade Count: (38)
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2010, 09:53:11 PM »