Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: WHICH SUB AND WHY  (Read 3366 times)

Offline shayne

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
WHICH SUB AND WHY
« on: June 04, 2008, 04:20:07 PM »
Ok, I have little knowledge of playback right now I have a sony dvd player Yamaha reciever and polk lsi -7's  on speaker stands. I wish I new more about playback, but here is my use. I record to 16 bit and burn to cd for all shows I record. I knew nothing about the speakers I bought but did spend some time listening at tweeter before I bought. I am happy with the sound but was thinking of adding a sub to the mix for more bottom end. Looking for suggestions in the $300.00 - $500.00 range any and all help or suggestions welcome.
Shayne
studio pojects LSD2 OR OKTAVA MCO12> T+ MOD UA-5 OR AD-20> JB3>SVU2

Offline sygdwm

• unknown sleath taper
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: WHICH SUB AND WHY
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2008, 04:22:31 PM »
mics: (4)akg c460b(a60,mk46,ck1x,ck1,ck2,ck3,ck61,ck63)
pres: oade m148/edirol wmod ua5
recorders: marantz stock671/oade acm671/fostex busman vintage fr2le

(P.S.: On a threaded discussion board like this one, there's no need to repeat someone's post when you reply to them; everyone can see all the messages in the thread.)

Offline Javier Cinakowski

• !! Downhill From Here !!
  • Trade Count: (11)
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2008, 05:03:56 PM »
I have that Velodyne hooked up in my basement.  It is ok.

Why not stick with polk?
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_e?url=search-alias%3Delectronics&field-keywords=polk+psw12

I personally am in love with Tannoy speakers, but that is out of your price range, unless you can tolerate a 10" used sub...
Neumann KM185mp OR DPA ST2015-> Grace Design Lunatec V2-> Tascam DR-100mkIII

Offline Todd R

• Over/Under on next gear purchase: 2 months
  • Trade Count: (29)
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2008, 05:37:18 PM »
Pinnacle Babyboomer: