Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Cool Edit Pro 2.0 vs Adobe Audition 2.0  (Read 3546 times)

Offline dhora

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
Cool Edit Pro 2.0 vs Adobe Audition 2.0
« on: July 27, 2008, 09:43:58 PM »
I've been using Cool Edit Pro 2.0 for a few years with no problems.  I recently built a new PC and installed Adobe Audition 2.0 which I've been itching to install since I bought it a couple years ago and my old PC wouldn't run it.

I keep seeing glitches in the Audition UI where icons will shift to the left or disappear for a second or so, then it goes back to normal.
When I use Audition to record, I get occasional skips in the feed when I record the audio that comes out of the speakers.
I was trying to edit a wave file and Audition seemed to slow down the audio occasionally during playback of the wave file. 

I just reinstalled Cool Edit Pro 2.0 and it has none of the above issues on my new PC.

Has anyone else had these types of problems with Adobe Audition?  Is there any reason I should use Audition instead of old reliable Cool Edit?
AT853h,o, AT831c > AT831 (SP-CMC-2) > SP-SPSB-1 > JB3
Shows on the Archive: http://www.archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%22Dave%20Hora%22

stevetoney

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: Cool Edit Pro 2.0 vs Adobe Audition 2.0
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2008, 10:49:01 PM »
I really don't know for sure what you might be experiencing, but I've been using Audition 1.0 for a long time and recently upgraded to Version 3.0.  While it seems that Version 3.0 does process information quicker, I also noticed that 3.0 slows my machine down quite a bit.  I also get really slow performance when multi-tasking, if 3.0 is loaded up. 

So, again I can't say for sure, but it seems from my experience that 3.0 hogs way more RAM than 1.0 does.  It's a trade-off because like I said, 3.0 seems to process 24bit files faster than 1.0, but then it seems to bog down because of RAM limitations.