Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: minidvd camcorder recommendations/worth spending extra $$$ vs. minidv?  (Read 7828 times)

Offline pathfinder2976

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
I'm new to this, so bear with me if it has already been discussed. 
I'm in the market to purchase my first camcorder, but need some feedback on what would best provide me as a wise investment. 
I am looking at the sony dcrdvd-403, because of the Still Shot/5.1 surround built in feature.  I was disappointed by the price(about $1000).  Also,when I learned that a single minidvd's recording last on an average of 30 minutes.  Is this length accurate.  I had hoped to record concerts/performances, which usually has a running time of about 2hours.  Any pros/cons from people who own this model?
So is investing in a minidv camcorder a better choice? The cost is cheaper and  longer recording time(?), but I'll give up the 5.1 surround feature.  Also, is the minidv camcorder on its way out as being a thing of the past.  Or would investing in the minidvd camcorder, compatibilty wise, a better choice of things to come.
Just to remind everyone, this is my first post and have never owned/used a camcorder.  So if the post has any inaccurate info, please have patience and understanding.     

Offline Simp-Dawg

• Bad Little Dawggie
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Daddy needs a drink!
    • Colorado Tapers
there have been a few discussions on this topic as of late....what i've learned is that no digital media (mini-dvd , mini-dv, solid state) really provide sufficient recording time for concerts...however some cameras allow for connection to a "firestore" drive which is basically a portable external hard drive that can capture video straight off the camera.  that's what i think i'm going to look into.
CO Crüe Benchwarmer

Playback: Denon DVD-2910 > Denon AVR-3806 > Segue Doghouse Speaker Cable > B&W DM-610i / Klipsch RW-10 Subwoofer