Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Newbie: Advice on buying the right Mic set up  (Read 5586 times)

Offline Fitz

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Newbie: Advice on buying the right Mic set up
« on: August 21, 2010, 12:01:22 PM »
I am just getting started, building a rig and need some help.  I plan to do the majority of my recording indoors at the local venues in Seattle (Showbox, Crocodile , Tractor tavern, etc) with occasional outdoor shows at the Gorge (focus on Jambands and Bluegrass).  Looking for a versatile set up that will allow me to get the best results.  I picked up a Sony PCM D50 off Craigslist for $350 as my foundation, understanding that the real money should be spent on mics but, I am at a loss as to which manufacturer and model would be best. Any advise would be appreciated.  Budgets is between $750-$1000; new or used; quality over quantity.  Keep in mind all I have is the D50 at the momment so need to build around it..  Thanks.

Offline nicegrin

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Regular
Re: Newbie: Advice on buying the right Mic set up
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2010, 01:04:22 PM »
For omnis

DPA 4061s < $1000
Nevaton MCE 400s + tinybox (around $700)

for cards or hypers:

MM HLSC-1 (cards) + 9v batterybox or CA-9100 preamp (less than $500)
AT 853 cards or hypercardiods + 9v batterybox or CA-9100 pre (less than $500)
Audix 1280 card or hypercaps + Church cables + 9v batterybox or CA-9100 pre. (less than $500)

I´d say the Nevaton setup is the best deal but all these alternatives are very good starting mics!

/N

« Last Edit: August 21, 2010, 01:06:20 PM by nicegrin »
Toy Box:

MICS:

Omnis:  6xNevaton MCE400s, Countryman b3s (modded), MM HLSOs (4.7K mod), Aevox in ear MK2s, CA-11s
Cards:   Schoeps MK4s with Schoeps CMRS, Milab VM-44 Links, SP CMC-8,  AT853, Sennheiser MKE 104, MM HLSC-1s, ECM-717
Hypers: AKG CK93s (modded), SP CMC-8, AT853, Audix 1280s (Church actives).