Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: ORTF or DIN(a)  (Read 9022 times)

Offline Brennan

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • Currently hooked on open taping
ORTF or DIN(a)
« on: December 02, 2007, 06:02:33 AM »
Very roughly here, I'm thinking about this:

For in indoor venue is it generally better to run like this ---> \    / (ortf?) or this ---> /   \(DIN(a))

Please no smiting; I'm just trying to learn here :-X
Team SoCal

Church Audio Cardiods > Church Audio STC-9000 Preamp > Edirol R-09 (24/48) <- Click for info on each!

stevetoney

Re: ORTF or DIN(a)
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2007, 06:42:42 AM »
I'm still learning myself, but I think you've got your figures a little mixed up.

Assuming your mic capsules are at the top and the sound source is at the top (not the bottom), ORTF, DIN and DIN(a) all involve separating your microphones into a sorta 'toes pointed outward' manner.

<Sound Source>

\  /

ORTF has 120 degree's of angle between the mics and the capsules are 17 cm apart.

DIN has 90 degree's of angle between the mics and the capsules are 20cm apart.

DIN(a) also has 90 degree's of angle between the mics, but the capsules are 17 cm apart.

Your right-hand example, or toes pointed in configuration, is called the X-Y or coincident mic'ing technique. 

<Sound Source>

/ \

In this technique, the mics are aligned so that they also may have a 90 degree or 120 degree angle, but the capsules are aligned so that one is directly above the other vertically. 

The goal for ORTF, DIN, and DIN(a) is for the sound to arrive at the capsules from the L and R speakers at a slightly different time...and this is similar to how our ears work...there is a slight delay between the time that sound from a single point source gets to each ear.  Our brain understands and interprets that delay.  Coincidently, if you haven't figured out the logic, 17cm - 20cm is the distance between most peoples' ears.