Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: taping set suggestion please  (Read 3724 times)

Offline yanosh

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
taping set suggestion please
« on: August 19, 2005, 11:07:15 PM »
Ok so I'm new to all of this.
I started to download flac bootlegs recently at dimeadozen.org and my interest in this is growing.
I decided I want to start recording the shows I'm attending.

I've read the starters guide and I understand the method of mic > mic power > gain > adc > storage but still I have no idea what I should buy.
My budget for the whole equipment is 170$, although I can move a little up if I find that I have more use of the equipment except for recording live shows.
I want the equipment to be stealthable, I don't want to buy used equipment and I only go to heavy metal shows.

Can someone please give me a general configuration that I can buy at this price?
Please don't explain to me things I won't understand and please write equipment that I can easily find at the stores.
I'm looking for a direct answer with the list of equipment that I should buy.

Oh and just a side question:
When I'm recording short clips at shows with my digital camera (Sony DSCP93 - not something too new) the sound is actually pretty good.
Why haven't I seen a post saying that it's considarable to tape with digital camera?
Is because the audio of the recording is lossy and can't be controled by the camera? is it because the sound is actually bad and only I think it's ok? or is it because of something else?

Thank you.

Roving Sign

Re: taping set suggestion please
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2005, 11:09:30 PM »
For 170 dollars...not much you can do.

Keep downloading.

Offline yanosh

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2005, 11:22:11 PM »
Then what is the price of the most basic equipment I need to buy?
Something that would be enough to produce a -b/+b sound in metal shows.

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.