Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: AT-853's / Sony D8 - General Questions & Help Please!  (Read 10133 times)

Offline Rat6666

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
    • NJ Hot Air Balloon Rides
AT-853's / Sony D8 - General Questions & Help Please!
« on: February 23, 2004, 11:27:50 AM »
Hi gang,

I recently bought myself a second-hand Sony TCD-D8, and am looking to buy a set of SP AT-853's (cardioids). I've heard nothing but good about them for the price, so I'm fairly sure those are what I'll be getting for mics. However, I welcome other suggestions since I'm extremely new to this and already I understand the point that it's better to be generous rather than stingy with funds, especially when it comes to mics.

My total budget is $500-800, and I've already spent $300 on the DAT. It'll be another $170 for the 853's. I'm looking for very good quality in my setup. I'm also leaning towards stealth, since some shows I go to may not be pro-taping. I don't really want to drag around a stand anyway. However, I'm sure I could upgrade to a decent stand later on to get above the crowd if ever needed.

I have an Echo Gina24 sound card with S/PDIF and optical input/outputs.

I'm setting up this rig primarily to record a Marc Cohn concert this May (acoustic, piano, etc). I'll be front row center in a playhouse/theater venue, so I'll be in a perfect spot for taping. Any suggestions on mic techniques, aiming, etc? I am hoping to get permission from the artist beforehand so I can set up close to/on the stage. If not, I'll have to stealth it on my lapels or in a hat.

Beyond that concert, the rig will be used for Mule, WSP, etc type shows from the crowd. Obviously I'm going to practice, practice practice before the Cohn concert to make sure I am familiar with what I'm doing!

My questions:
- What type of battery box/bass rolloff filter/analog-to-digital combo might be ideal for my setup/budget/use?