Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: newbie to dat recording  (Read 5364 times)

Offline Jimna

• Zappa for President
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Audio DeutchKraft & Busman Audio
    • F.M.Record Company
newbie to dat recording
« on: February 27, 2004, 11:02:24 AM »
ive been using mini discs for about 3 to 4 yrs, and just purchased a pcm-m1 and an active 7 pin cable.  when i went to buy blanks i realized that i dont know enough to buy the correct size.  ive had no luck finding any help here either.  does lp mode recording cause sound loss like it does in mini discs?  how long does each size tape give me to record?  any other advice on dat recording, media, and editing would be cool.  thanks
Co-Founder of F.M.Recording 
SD: Busman Audio BSC1-K1/K2/K3/K4 > Grace Lunatec V3 > Busman Hybrid R4
LD: ADK A-51TL MP > Busman Hybrid R4
+ 48 Channel Multi-track rig

Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 2x Extender Mark III, Canon 15mm f2.8, Canon 85mm f/1.8 USM, Canon 100mm Macro f2.8, Canon 16-35mm L f2.8, Canon 24-70mm L f/2.8, Canon 70-200mm L f2.8 IS, Canon ST-E2, Canon 580ex II (x2), Canon 430ex II, PocketWizard PLUS II(x4), Radiopopper PX System

http://jmimna.com/

Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST
-FZ

Offline leegeddy

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re:newbie to dat recording
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2004, 11:36:44 AM »
ive been using mini discs for about 3 to 4 yrs, and just purchased a pcm-m1 and an active 7 pin cable.  when i went to buy blanks i realized that i dont know enough to buy the correct size.  ive had no luck finding any help here either.  does lp mode recording cause sound loss like it does in mini discs?  how long does each size tape give me to record?  any other advice on dat recording, media, and editing would be cool.  thanks

+t for the MD > DAT upgrade.   ;D