Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Beginner  (Read 2606 times)

Offline discopanic1

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Beginner
« on: July 24, 2004, 06:12:03 PM »
How's it goin?  I am a beginner at this taping thing, well owning my own rig part of it.  I have a set of attenuetters connected to the line in on the SD mixpre.  I aren't real sure what those are used for.  I am seaming to have I guess alot of "head" on my tapes.  I guess that is what it's called.  I can hear a noise in the tapes.  Any tips appreciative.
Thanks,
Jesse

Mk4 -> cmc6 -> SD Mixpre -> M1

Offline zhianosatch

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • god-damned hippies!
Re: Beginner
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2004, 07:05:32 PM »
man... do some reading on your gear.

radioboy1977

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2004, 07:11:43 PM »
 ::)

Offline discopanic1

• Taperssection Regular
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2004, 07:45:02 PM »
I've started to read up on my rig.  I've come to find out I'm setting up my mics wrong, but I'm not sure this is the reason for the distorted sounding echoeing tapes I put out.  I guess only time and practice will help the solution.  Tips if any.....

Offline zhianosatch

• Trade Count: (1)
  • god-damned hippies!
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2004, 07:49:19 PM »
I've started to read up on my rig.  I've come to find out I'm setting up my mics wrong, but I'm not sure this is the reason for the distorted sounding echoeing tapes I put out.  I guess only time and practice will help the solution.  Tips if any.....

read more! ;D

Offline aberg

• Team Canada
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2004, 09:01:44 PM »
I don't get it.... why do you keep telling him to read?

Offline Brian

• Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2004, 04:36:01 PM »
why would you want attenuaters for this setup?  that's probably what's causeing the noise ..... subpar attenuaters.