Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: What is considered the "sweet spot" for recording- stealth-no rigs  (Read 3076 times)

Offline bluntforcetrauma

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Member
    • http://themovementschool.org
i was wondering what is considered to be the best location for a venue to tape from if you are stealthing?

What do you guys look for to sit--what location would give you a good recording?

I know there are many type of venues--but in general what is considered " the sweet spot" thanks

thanks in advance

Offline bluntforcetrauma

• Taperssection Member
Re: What is considered the "sweet spot" for recording- stealth-no rigs
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2005, 06:52:23 PM »
triangulate---please i am a newbie--Moe could you please decipher?

thank you

Offline potsy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2005, 07:33:33 PM »
trianglulate=to make a triangle...2 of the points of the triangle are the speakers, and you are the third point.  place yourself so that all 3 sides of the triagle are even.
Sony D8 DAT, M-Audio Microtrack 2496 w/ 4GB Kingston Elite Pro 45x CF, Core-Sound Stealth Cardiods

Offline Teen Age Riot

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Member
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2005, 11:43:57 AM »
^ what he said.

I make stack tapes most of the time I stealth. Using the omnidirectional DPA mics listed in your signature, you'll probably also want to get high sound pressure levels in order to drown out crowd noise and ambiance (espcially if the room/PA/sound engineer is not particularly great), so I would definitely try to be as up-front as possible. But do walk around and check out different spots. I find ear plugs extremely helpful, because to me, what I hear with ear plugs usually comes a lot closer to what the tape will sound like. And of course it's better for your hearing anyway.