Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Analog front end options for Micro track  (Read 4008 times)

Offline mp3weenie

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Analog front end options for Micro track
« on: July 12, 2007, 09:38:32 PM »
Hello Tapers (I have not posted since the DAT head days so I am a newbie I guess),

I am using Core Sounds HEB (DPA4061) with it's battery box straight into the Microtrack mic inputs. I am not happy with the analog front end of the MT and I am looking at solutions to improve my rig. I was thinking about an A/D to put in front of the MT but I would like to use 96KHz capability of the MT. Also I was looking at the Korg MR-1 1-bit recording for a replacement of the MT. I want to keep my rig as simple as possible so I though the MR-1 would be a good option. If it lives up to the hype the analog front end should be good since there is nothing to it and you can convert post production to various PCM formats up to 24/192.

What are your thoughts on these and other options?

Thanks in advance. J

Offline Nick Graham

• Amorican
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Analog front end options for Micro track
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2007, 10:04:44 PM »
As a bit bucket you can't beat the Microtrack, however the analog front end leaves more than a little to be desired.

To keep your rig small, have 24 bit capability, and a decent A>D stage, your only real options are the Korg MR1 and the Edirol R09.
Right now nothing...in the past: Schoeps CMC6, AKG 480, AKG 460, AKG 414, MBHO 603a, Neumann KM100, ADK TL>Schoeps MK4, Schoeps MK2, Schoeps MK41, AKG ck61, AKG ck62, AKG ck63, Neumann AK40, Neumann AK50, MBHO ka200>Lunatec V2, Lunatec V3, Apogee Mini-Me, Oade M148, Oade M248, Sound Devices MP2, Sonosax SXM2>Sony (mod)SBM1, Apogee AD500>D7, D8, D100, M1, R1, R4, R09, iRiver HP120, Microtrack

Offline taper420

• Taperssection All-Star
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2007, 08:08:02 AM »