Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Taping Beginner...  (Read 3748 times)

Offline ramramrs

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Taping Beginner...
« on: April 30, 2011, 07:52:05 PM »
I have just started to dabble in taping, my first two shows were recorded openly with an Olympus WS 400s. These two shows were by minor performers, an Eagles tribute band and a friend's garage band. Since then I have taken an interest in taping, and I think I am ready to "go to the next level", stealthing some some of my favorite larger name bands.

I have recently run into a lot of money and I've decided to start pursuing my taping interest, and make it into a hobby. My aim is to buy a Sony PCM M10 and start taping somewhat regularly.

My main question is that, when I finally buy the M10, should I also invest in a battery box, preamp, or microphone right away? Or should I stick to the internal mics while I'm still a beginner? Or even stick to my Olympus?

Thanks in advance.  :-[
« Last Edit: April 30, 2011, 07:53:58 PM by ramramrs »

Offline willndmb

• Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Taping Beginner...
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2011, 07:58:12 PM »
invest right away in something
the internal mics are not going to do you much good
you can get some mics and a bb/pre for not much money and the results will be 100x better in most cases
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline rastasean

• in paradise
  • Trade Count: (23)
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2011, 08:04:40 PM »
You don't necessarily need to buy something new. We have a yard sale section where you can find all kinds of gear for less than the price of new.

Here's a really nice recorder: http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=145008.0