Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Best Mic for iPod- Rock Concert Stealth Recording?  (Read 7552 times)

Offline Pingmon

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Best Mic for iPod- Rock Concert Stealth Recording?
« on: March 01, 2008, 04:33:44 AM »
Hi, I am a Newbie here, please bear with me!   :)
 I have been taping rock shows since 1980, using mostly cheapo analog cassette recorders, but since I tape alot of jamband, rock & metal shows, I was reluctant to invest alot of $$$ in an expensive DAT to take into the pit. Last year I finally went "digital" and bought a 5th gen iPod, and a Belkin Tunetalk Stereo. It actually records lossles now to .wav format, but unfortunately my batteries die after about 2 hours. Also, since the Belkin mic is plugged into the USB port, I cannot attach an extra battery pack, and the Belkin mic is pretty weak, so the instructions advise to attach an external mic for "loud sources". I tried attaching my old cheapo Aiwa mic, and I have successfully recorded 2 shows so far last year (Gomez, and Chris Cornell in Seattle) with very good results (compared to my analog cassette recorder).

However, I posted my Chris Cornell show a few months ago on DIME, and got harassed by some tapers because the mic I had did not have the power to pull out the vocals from the rest of the band. What I need is an inexpensive (<$200) starter mic for stealth taping rock concerts with a mini headphone jack to plug into my new Belkin/ iPod setup...

http://www.dimeadozen.org/torrents-details.php?id=165486

I have been reading everything I can find, and there are so many different types of mics (omni/ uni directional, cardiod, phantom power?) Any helpful suggestions are greatly appreciated...

Thanks!

« Last Edit: March 01, 2008, 04:48:10 AM by Pingmon »

Offline Pingmon

• Taperssection Newbie
Re: Best Mic for iPod- Rock Concert Stealth Recording?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2008, 12:22:06 PM »