Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: explain how you archive your shows  (Read 6260 times)

Offline Jhurlbs81

• Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • My LMA collection
explain how you archive your shows
« on: December 17, 2006, 05:31:28 PM »
I am curious how everyone goes about archiving the shows they tape.  I don't have a set process yet, I have a ton of Master files burned to DVD, but those are not very useful if you want to burn the show to CDR @16/44.  With the cost of DVDRs I'm almost thinking 2 DVDRs per show, one with the original 24 bit wavs, one with the tracked 16/44 wavs and FLAC seed directory.

What are your best practices?
FREE JERRYFREAK!

Offline willyjbrown

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Re: explain how you archive your shows
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2006, 08:42:22 PM »
I got a 250gb external hd off of ebay for $70 (good price in my opinion), so I keep the original .wav files on there along with some other stuff. Beats the hell out of keeping up with discs...

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2006, 10:40:11 PM »
I got a 250gb external hd off of ebay for $70 (good price in my opinion), so I keep the original .wav files on there along with some other stuff. Beats the hell out of keeping up with discs...

What do you plan to do if when the HDD dies?  It will fail eventually, sooner or later.

Since starting to use Samplitude, I've modified my archiving a bit.  I now keep:

• original WAVs (FLAC'd), project files, and 24-bit tracked WAVs (for listening, also FLAC'd) on my HDD
  • original WAVs (FLAC'd) and project files on optical media (DVD)
  • final 16-bit and 24-bit edited and tracked WAVs distributed to the broader music-loving community as an off-site backup of sorts

One of these days I'll copy my HDDs to a spare drive and stash it off-site at a family member's house.