Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Recording Gigs from PA Soundboard  (Read 4140 times)

Offline jelkin

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Recording Gigs from PA Soundboard
« on: March 21, 2013, 07:52:45 PM »
Ok, I am a complete noob at this, granted I know my hardware (computer wise) more than quite well and I have been introduced to the hardware req'd for getting a multitrack recording, i'm also a nut about obtaining sbd's from a plethora of bands anywhere from STS9 to Tool to the Dead) so I know a small amount about transferring but little about the specific hardware used in the transfer. I've recorded a main-out SBD two time, and haven't been extremely pleased with the outcomes, I'm assuming because when running 1/4" RCAs to 1/8" TRS into my computer's line in is just capturing the feed specific for the venue's acoustics. Some friends have told me that doing a multitrack recording would yield *much* better results. Recently, I've been to a small bar-type venue with an amazing PA (they have a PreSonus StudioLive 32.4.2AI mixer), and the sound guy there says he runs a FW 800 cable from the mixer to a MacBook and records multitrack in PreSonus Capture on his laptop. Seems pretty simple.
Not all venues will have a FW 800 output, I understand this. So I've been looking into getting (eventually 2) an 8-input recorder that I can run outputs from the board into the ins on my recorder, then an out into my computer. Firewire seems to be the way to go these days (correct me if I'm wrong), so a recorder with FW outs seems to be necessary as FW will allow for multitrack separation.  In the beginning I was looking at a Zoom r16, but now I'm looking at the PreSonus FireStudio Project. Am I headed in the right direction?  How do you guys capture a (D)SBD recording? What do you guys recommend in terms of recording off a board? (Everyone I would be recording for are friends so access to the house PA wouldn't ever be a problem.)