Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: New Bogen 3373 (001(b)) Stand Knock-Off for 30% Less  (Read 4108 times)

Offline BayTaynt3d

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • Live from San Francisco
    • BayTaper.com
New Bogen 3373 (001(b)) Stand Knock-Off for 30% Less
« on: November 04, 2007, 10:45:55 PM »
SSIA.

I'm a photographer that follows a blog called the Strobist. Anyway, the guy uses some of the same stands us tapers use. And recently, he wrote this post about a stand that is basically a replica of the Bogen 3373 (now called the "001(b)") but about 30% cheaper. I have a bunch of stands I use for taping and lighting, including a larger bogen and the smaller 3373. Well, I decided I could use a second 3373, so I tried the knock-off. It's just a tiny bit larger (barely noticeable), possibly a hair heavier (again barely noticeable), and totally useable. Anyway, just thought I'd share this here in case anyone needs a new one.

Here's the post where I learned about it:
http://strobist.blogspot.com/2007/10/finally-little-compact-stand.html

Here's a link to where it can be bought:
http://www.mpex.com/browse.cfm/4,4729.htm

Also, FWIW, I'm NOT affiliated with the blog or the retailer, I'm just a satisfied customer of both.  :-)
BayTaper.com | One Man’s Multimedia Journey Through the San Francisco Jazz & Creative Music Scene

Offline Kindguy

• Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: New Bogen 3373 (001(b)) Stand Knock-Off for 30% Less
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2007, 11:13:53 PM »
T+

Just read this on that blog. 

Check out the Calumet MF6030. It's about 6" longer(folded) than the Bogen, less than 0.8lb heavier, but extends to 9' and, with tubular legs, is much stronger. It's also $15 cheaper than the Bogen. Just another option...

http://www.calumetphoto.com/item/MF6030/

I'm going to order one of these. I've flown the LSD2 on my 3373 several times. But I don't like doing it.  ;D