Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: help deciding on recorder....660?  (Read 2964 times)

Offline crossthreaded

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
help deciding on recorder....660?
« on: February 04, 2008, 10:00:35 PM »
I had posted a yard sale ad lookin for a 660 and some other gear, i got some pm's but only for modded 660's or for a 671. 

and someone posted saying that the 660 sucks unless it's modded.

I've seen some decent deals on ebay the past couple weeks and was just wondering if I'm getting ready to buy a piece of shit recorder.  I don't mind spending 4-500 on a used recorder, I just don't want to get it and have it suck.

is there another entry level recorder I should look at instead?  (please include manufacturer names with model numbers..i'm new to all of this and google doesn't like searches for numbers)

oh and I'm prob going to be recording with c4's at panic shows and local rock and bluegrass shows

thanks for any help
akg 460/ck61>cables>busman T mod R4
stuff > rio > es > cl5 > nexo

Offline spcyrfc

• Trade Count: (8)
  • Taperssection Member
  • Live from River City
    • BordersCrossing.net
Re: help deciding on recorder....660?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2008, 10:06:20 PM »
a modded 660 is great for recording shows of all sorts of db level. unmodded, i doubt it would be able to hold its own without a preamp in front.  If you get a 660, buy used/new and get it modded by Busman (lots of info on this site about his great work) or buy direct from www.oade.com and get the song catcher mod or one of the other mods they offer.

Oade will be more expensive.  in order to get a unit modded by them, you have to buy direct from them.
both oade and busman have excellent reputations on this site.

also consider the Fostex fr2le.

ive run both and both are great. the most apparent difference is 16 bit on the 660 and 24 bit on the fr2le.
cant go wrong.  tape away

*edit* the ACM in the yard sale would work well.