Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Left mic clips and is staticy, but... (FOLLOW UP)  (Read 2664 times)

Offline Argitoth

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Left mic clips and is staticy, but... (FOLLOW UP)
« on: March 06, 2008, 04:14:33 PM »
Previously on Tapersection.com... To be continued... until now!

So, Microphone Madness sent me a modified mic with mono left and right connectors (instead of single stereo connector). All the problems ARE NOT solved.

I desparately need noise reduction software. Can you suggest me one? I've been looking at iZotope RX and I'm ready to spend some money, however, I am a noob and I don't want to fall into the trap of "buy the first thing you see." I have one immediate question. Does noise reduction software generally preserve sounds like shakers which almost sound like whitenoise in nature?
« Last Edit: March 08, 2008, 07:15:42 PM by Argitoth »

Offline flipp

• resident curmudgeon
  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Left mic clips and is staticy, but... (FOLLOW UP)
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2008, 04:42:42 PM »
Nice to read that the problem has been found and cured.

wrt noise reduction: can't offer any advice since the only times I tried it, I wasn't pleased with the results and kept the original file unaltered. I know izotope makes some good products and some folks love them. I've never tried one of their products (or plugins). Perhaps someone who has will post their thoughts.

Offline Argitoth

• Taperssection Regular
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2008, 05:00:31 PM »
You know I called Sweetwater for some advice on noise reduction. I told one guy I was going to be creating a sample library and he strongly suggested I use Cubase Wavelab. He mentioned stuff like audio editing, dithering, normalization, but I don't understand why I can't use what I usually use for audio editing. He suggested wavelab specifically because I said I was going to create a sample library.